ELECTION UPDATE: After deadline passes, here are candidates for local offices

After the filing deadline passed for the 2013 election on Friday (May 17), 9 candidates have officially declared that they’re running for five Des Moines City Council seats, including two incumbents running unopposed.

The Primary election will be Aug. 6, and the General election will be Nov. 5.


  • Council Position No. 1: Matt Pina (incumbent)
  • Council Position No. 3: Carmen L. Scott (incumbent). Victor L. Pennington II
  • Council Position No. 4 (unexpired 2-year term): Chuck Swesey, Jeremy Nutting (incumbent), James Payne
  • Council Position No. 5: Melissa Musser (incumbent)
  • Council Position No. 7: Robert Bonds, Dave Kaplan (incumbent)
  • Municipal Court Judge: Veronica Galvan (incumbent), David Gehrke


  • Council Position No. 1: Jack Block Jr. (incumbent), Lauren Berkowitz, Kip Walton
  • Council Position No. 3: Andrea H. Reay, Joan McGilton (incumbent), Robert L. Richmond III, Debi Wagner
  • Council Position No. 5: Nancy Tosta, Len Boscarine, Rose Clark (incumbent)
  • Council Position No. 7: Chuck Rangel, Joey Martinez, Steve Armstrong

Interestingly, two candidates who publicly declared they were running but failed to meet the deadline are:


  • Council Position No. 2: Clarke Brant (incumbent) – withdrawn, Mike Bishoff
  • Council Position No. 4: Kathleen Waters, Marion Yoshino
  • Council Position No. 6: Tom Munslow, Chris Coleman

NOTE: A candidate may withdraw by submitting a signed request that their name not be printed on the ballot no later than Monday, May 20, 2013, at 4:30 p.m.

As we’ve done in the past, we’ll be holding Candidate Forums, so be sure to check back often for updates…

Share Your Opinion

By participating in our online comment system, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of our comment policy.

...and oh, if you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!