PHOTOS: Dollars For Scholars Celebrates Des Moines Scholarship Winners

Photo by Michael Brunk /

This past Wednesday evening (May 15) Des Moines Dollars for Scholars held their annual reception to honor the 2013 scholarship award winners.

The non-profit Dollars for Scholars foundation encourages educational achievement by supporting local students who are pursuing studies at two-year, four-year, or vocational and technical colleges.

This year, the following scholarships were awarded:

Southwest Seattle Business and Professional Women Scholarship

  • Jacqueline Beal
  • Davina Fuiava (Geraldine Sorensen Scholarship)

Des Moines Yacht Club First Mates Scholarship

  • Martin Pitt
  • Sebastian Martinez (Ken Higgins Memorial Scholarship)

Des Moines Rotary Club Scholarship

  • Jonathan Mountford
  • Natalie Welch

CleanScapes Scholarship

  • Lacy Jolin

Des Moines Chamber of Commerce Endowment Fund

  • Anjela Zdravkova (Ronald Millheisler Scholarship)
  • Lauren ZilkeĀ (Ronald Millheisler Scholarship)

Steven J. Underwood Memorial Scholarship

  • Lexis Pawlowski

Des Moines Dollars for Scholars

  • Rachel Webster

Photographer Michael Brunk was at the Des Moines Yacht Club for this year’s event and assembled the following photo gallery. You can click individual thumbnails to view larger versions.

Share Your Opinion

By participating in our online comment system, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of our comment policy.

...and oh, if you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!