Highline College names Carl Hinkson 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award winner

Carl Hinkson PhotoHighline Community College on Thursday (June 13) named Carl Hinkson – respiratory therapist and manager of Haborview Medical Center’s Respiratory Care department – its 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award winner for his “substantial contributions and success in the respiratory care profession.”

He was honored on June 12 during the College’s commencement ceremony at the ShoWare Center in Kent.

“Carl represents the very best in a Highline Community College graduate,” said Highline President, Dr. Jack Bermingham. “He not only developed the critical skills necessary to succeed in his profession, but he has also taken on the leadership roles responsive to the changing environment in health care. We are proud to recognize Carl as the College’s 2013 Alum of the Year.”

Hinkson graduated from Highline’s Respiratory Care program in 1996 before continuing on to earn his bachelor’s degree at the University of Kansas and master’s from Northeastern College. He is currently the only Washington State respiratory care practitioner to hold a master’s degree in Respiratory Care.

In addition to managing the prestigious Respiratory Care unit at Harborview Medical Center, Hinkson is an author, national speaker and lecturer, and advocate for the respiratory care field. He served as the Respiratory Care Society of Washington President in 2010, and has been awarded many honors for his work including being named the 2011 Adult Acute Care Practitioner of the Year by the American Association for Respiratory Care.

“My time at Highline Community College was very important to my development as a professional,” said Hinkson. “The program director, Bob Hirnle, and clinical director, Bob Bonner, influenced me greatly. I credit much of my later successes to my time at Highline.”

The Distinguished Alumni Award honors a former Highline student who has made outstanding contributions through community service, noteworthy professional achievement and/or recognized leadership.

Former Seattle Mayor Norm Rice, who attended Highline in 1968–69, was the first recipient of the award in 1990. Other past honorees include Ezra Teshome, agent with State Farm Insurance and TIME magazine global health hero; Dr. Linda Petter, a local health care advocate; and Junki Yoshida, founder and CEO of the Yoshida Food Group.

For more information about past honorees, visit www.funds4highline.org.

Share Your Opinion

By participating in our online comment system, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of our comment policy.

...and oh, if you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!