Highline School Board named ‘Board of Distinction’ by WSSDA


Award-winning Highline School Board members are Michael Spear (Board President), Bernie Dorsey, Angelica Alvarez, Tyrone Curry Sr., and Joe Van.

The five-member Highline School Board has been named a ‘Board of Distinction’ by the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA).

Highline is one of 24 school boards honored out of the 295 school boards in the state.

Awards were based on evidence demonstrating that the board is:

  • Being accountable and open to the public, and seeking divergent perspectives in its decision making.
  • Adopting a collaboratively developed district plan focused on learning and achievement.
  • Employing and supporting quality teachers, administrators, and other staff, and providing for professional development.

The independent review panel also examined specific decisions the board made and how it is working to help close the opportunity gap.

“I truly appreciate this recognition from WSSDA. Board members put a lot of time, thought, and heart into serving this amazing community of students, staff, and families. We are humbled and honored by this award and pleased with the results we are seeing in Highline,” said School Board President Michael Spear.

Other board members are Angelica Alvarez, Tyrone Curry, Sr., Bernie Dorsey, and Joe Van. Board members are non-salaried and elected to represent five geographic areas of the district.

In addition to twice-monthly board meetings, school board members hold quarterly public conversations. They have involved the community in important decision making, empowering community members to lead a committee that developed a long range facilities plan, and engaging hundreds of community members in developing the district’s strategic plan.

“This award acknowledges the outstanding and collaborative work happening in Highline under the leadership and support of our dedicated school board members, who never stop believing in our students and staff,” said Highline Superintendent Susan Enfield. “Our students, families and community are incredibly fortunate to have the board members we do.”

The annual Boards of Distinction program honors school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards, which promote research-based governing practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement and help close the opportunity gap.

The school boards will be recognized on Nov. 17 during the 2016 WSSDA Annual Conference in Spokane. At that time, the association will announce 2016 Boards of the Year winners.

Share Your Opinion

By participating in our online comment system, you are agreeing to abide by the terms of our comment policy.

...and oh, if you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!