At the Des Moines Yacht Club this past Thursday evening (May 19, 2015) students, parents and members of the local community gathered for the annual Dollars for Scholars award reception. Des Moines Dollars for Scholars is a non-profit organization affiliated nationally with Scholarship America. They work to help hometown students get connected with organizations, endowments and businesses in the community that provide scholarship funds. You can learn more at the Des Moines Dollars for Scholars web site. Thursday’s celebration was an opportunity to recognize local students who were selected as scholarship recipients for 2015. Here are this year’s scholarship winners:

  • Des Moines Rotary Scholarship – Gurleen Grewal
  • Des Moines Rotary Scholarship – Jessalyn Henry
  • Recology/CleanScapes Scholarship – Bethany Shimasaki
  • BJ and Anna Bjorneby Scholarship – Daniel Inman
  • Ronald Millheisler Scholarship – TeRessa Giamatti
  • Steven J. Underwood Memorial Scholarship – Kennedy Bryant
  • Southwest Seattle Business & Professional Women Scholarship – Cassandra Larson
  • Geraldine Sorensen Scholarship – Megan Reissig
  • Des Moines Dollars for Scholars – Navath Nhan
  • Des Moines Dollars for Scholars – Hannah Van Wyk
  • Des Moines Yacht Club First Mates Scholarship Honoring the 2014 Man & Woman of the Year – Courtney Jolley
  • Des Moines Yacht Club Ken Higgins Memorial Scholarship – Ryan Snow
  • Des Moines Yacht Club Darrel Miller Memorial Scholarship – Allison Wick
Photographer Michael Brunk was at the event and shot the following photos. You can click individual images to view them larger. [caption id="attachment_55123" align="aligncenter" width="490"]2015 Scholarship Winners 2015 Scholarship Winners[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55109" align="aligncenter" width="367"]Angela Engel, Dollars for Scholars Board President Angela Engel, Dollars for Scholars Board President[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55110" align="aligncenter" width="490"]Tony Piasecki & Gurleen Grewel Tony Piasecki & Gurleen Grewel[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55111" align="aligncenter" width="490"]Photo by Michael Brunk / Tony Piasecki & Jessalyn Henry[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55112" align="aligncenter" width="490"]Dan Bridges & Bethany Shimasaki Dan Bridges & Bethany Shimasaki[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55113" align="aligncenter" width="490"]Daniel Inman, Anna Bjorneby & BJ Bjorneby Daniel Inman, Anna Bjorneby & BJ Bjorneby[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55115" align="aligncenter" width="368"]Felicia Doubek, Guest Speaker & Previous Scholarship Recipient Felicia Doubek, Guest Speaker & Previous Scholarship Recipient[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55116" align="aligncenter" width="490"]TeRessa Giamatti & Vickie Bergquist TeRessa Giamatti & Vickie Bergquist[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55117" align="aligncenter" width="490"]Dick Underwood, Kennedy Bryant & Officer Bob Crane Dick Underwood, Kennedy Bryant & Officer Bob Crane[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55118" align="aligncenter" width="489"]Cassandra Larson & Margaret Way Cassandra Larson & Margaret Way[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55119" align="aligncenter" width="489"]Megan Reissig & Nancy Sorensen Megan Reissig & Nancy Sorensen[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55120" align="aligncenter" width="489"]Kurt Hollingsworth & Navath Nhan Kurt Hollingsworth & Navath Nhan[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55114" align="aligncenter" width="489"]Hannah Van Wyk & Virg Staiger Hannah Van Wyk & Virg Staiger[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55121" align="aligncenter" width="489"]Photo by Michael Brunk / Trish Keenan & Ryan Snow[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55122" align="aligncenter" width="489"]Allison Wick & Marilee Wamsley Allison Wick & Marilee Wamsley[/caption] [caption id="attachment_55108" align="aligncenter" width="489"]2015 Scholarship Awards Reception 2015 Scholarship Awards Reception[/caption]]]>