On Tuesday, May 17, 2016, Des Moines Farmers Market Organizers Wayne Corey and Rikki Marohl were awarded “Ambassadors of the Year” at ‘Destination 2020,’ the Seattle Southside RTA Tourism Symposium held at the new Four Points by Sheraton Hotel in Des Moines.

Wayne serves as President of the Board for the Market, and Rikki is the Manager of the market, which opens Saturday, June 4.

“Wow, that was a surprise last night,” Wayne told The Waterland Blog (he was truly surprised by the award…). Rikki was traveling and was unable to attend.

Congrats to these two for a well-deserved honor!

Here’s more on Seattle Southside:

Destination 2020 is Seattle Southside Regional Tourism Authority’s strategic plan to raise awareness and increase economic impact through tourism. Join us as we share last year’s measurable outcomes and set us our sights on 2020. Bill Geist, as the keynote speaker, will offer unique insights on advancing our destination together through community leadership and connectivity. There will be fabulous networking, delicious appetizers, a no-host bar and big prizes!

Seattle Southside Regional Tourism Authority (RTA), is the official destination marketing organization for South Seattle. The organization is responsible for competitively marketing the area as an ideal travel destination for leisure and business travelers who wish to explore Western Washington and an idyllic place for meeting and event planners to hold their events. The Seattle Southside RTA is funded by a self-assessed hotel fund and supported by lodging tax from the cities of SeaTac, Tukwila and Des Moines.

Seattle Southside RTA represents 60 hotels and nearly 8,000 hotel rooms, more than 100 full-service restaurants and more than 5 million square feet of shopping. These attributes combine to make this region the perfect home base for leisure travelers, business travelers, and meeting and event attendees to experience Seattle and the Pacific Northwest.

Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...