The Des Moines Yacht Club was the scene Wednesday night (May 16) for the 2012 Dollars for Scholars awards reception. This annual event is the culmination of a process that matches local college-bound students with Des Moines-area organizations that provide scholarships. Twelve students received scholarship money this year, up three from last year. Two new organizations stepped up to provide additional scholarships, CleanScapes and Peterson Northwest Corporation (Pete’s Towing). The following scholarships were awarded: Des Moines Yacht Club First Mates Scholarship

  • Jelena Stevanovic, Normandy Park (The Bob Rothwell Memorial Scholarship)
  • Kory Hollingsworth, Des Moines (The Bob Rothwell Memorial Scholarship)
  • Brianna Stoutenburgh (The Don Espeseth Memorial Scholarship)
Des Moines Rotary Club Scholarship
  • Molley Alvardo, Des Moines
  • Natasha Batby, Normandy Park
CleanScapes Scholarship
  • Nicolas Fischer, Normandy Park
Peterson Northwest Corporation Scholarship
  • Enrique Ramirez, Des Moines
Des Moines Chamber of Commerce Endowment Fund
  • Alexis Gregerson, SeaTac (The Ronald Millheisler Scholarship)
Steven J. Underwood Memorial Scholarship
  • Anne Marie Rogers, Des Moines
Southwest Seattle Business and Professional Women Scholarship
  • Karlayna Kern, Des Moines (The Geraldine Sorenson Scholarship)
  • Tanjerra Brown, Des Moines
Dollars for Scholars Foundation Scholarship
  • Nita Lisenby, Des Moines
WLB photog Michael Brunk was at the reception and shot the following photos. You can click a photo to view it larger. [gallery link="file" columns="1" size="medium" exclude="14108,14089"]]]>